Agenda item

Revenue, Capital Budget and Medium Term Financial Strategy to 2024/25

In accordance with the Local Authorities (Standing Orders) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2014, a recorded vote will be taken on this item.


Report to follow.



Council debated the budget, where it was confirmed that the Council had not cut any services in the past seven years and that rather than a laudable aim, improving welfare within the District was a commitment.  The support that the Council gave to the business community through the Economic Development Team was also highlighted and the increases to some Business Rates that had remained static for some time had been subject to a review and were justified.


Proposed by Councillor Millard and seconded by Councillor Louisson, it was


RESOLVED that the Council


a)    Approves the proposed Revenue and Capital Budgets for 2020/21 including a Council Tax rate of £133.73 at Band D, representing a 2% increase on the current charge;


b)    Agrees the Capital Strategy, Treasury Management Strategy and Prudential Indicators; and


c)    Agrees the increase to fees and charges for 2020/21.


(The detailed Council Tax calculation is set out in the Annex to these minutes)


In accordance with the Local Authorities (Standing Orders) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2014 the voting on this item was recorded as follows:


For the Motion:

Councillor Agate

Councillor Ashcroft

Councillor Bentley

Councillor Budden

Councillor Butler

Councillor Carew

Councillor Carter

Councillor Costigan

Councillor Cowper

Councillor Davies

Councillor Denton

Councillor Dolan

Councillor Drew

Councillor Evans

Councillor Gass

Councillor Glass

Councillor Hatter

Councillor Johnson

Councillor Langley

Councillor Louisson

Councillor Matthews

Councillor May

Councillor McKinney

Councillor Millard

Councillor Mocatta

Councillor Moon

Councillor Mouland

Councillor Oppenheimer

Councillor Pond

Councillor Schillemore

Councillor Taylor

Councillor Tennyson

Councillor Williams


Against the Motion:




Councillor Boxall

Councillor Burns

Councillor Hunt

Councillor Platt

Councillor Wigman

Councillor Woodard





Councillor Hill

Councillor Maroney

Councillor Standish

Councillor Thomas

Supporting documents: